The Health Branch is divided into three directorates—Health Services, Food and Drugs, and Indian Health Services. It has 14 Divisions active in certain public health fields divided into five main groups—Medical Advisory, Research Development, Environmental Health, Health Insurance Studies, and Health Grants Administration—each of which is headed by a Principal Medical Officer.

The Welfare Branch is made up of the Divisions of Family Allowances and Old Age Security, Old Age Assistance, and Blind and Disabled Persons Allowances. The Department is also responsible for federal civil defence planning, with the Civil Defence Co-ordinator reporting to both Deputy Ministers. The Administration Branch includes divisions where activities cover both health and welfare fields, such as research, information, legal and library services, as well as administrative, personnel and purchasing and supply services.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board was established in 1939 and the National Film Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 185) provides for a Board of Governors of nine members—a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is Chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through a designated Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration). The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and in particular films "designated to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations".

National Library.—The National Library Act, proclaimed Jan. 1, 1953, brought the National Library into being. Though at an early stage of organization, the Library publishes *Canadiana* a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada—and work is well advanced on a national union catalogue to serve as a key to the contents of all important libraries in Canada. The National Librarian reports to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Department of National Revenue.—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of National Revenue and under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as sales and excise taxes, by ports and outports. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes and succession duties by 29 district offices throughout Canada.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Income Tax Appeal Board and also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources .- The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to Administration Services, which performs auxiliary functions, the Department is divided into seven branches: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government; the Water Resources Branch is responsible for the investigation of water power resources, for the administration of federal as-sistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interests in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration and Lands Branch is responsible for the administration of various Federal Acts, Territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territories, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yukon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in those Territories, and for Eskimo affairs, as well as for certain lands and mineral rights in the provinces vested in the Crown in the right of Canada; the Forestry Branch conducts investigations in the protection and utilization of the forest resources of Canada, maintains forest experiment stations and forest products laboratories and administers federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Forestry Act; the Natural History Branch and Human History Branch of the National Museum of Canada are responsible for research, publication of scientific studies, and public exhibitions in their respective fields of natural history and human history; and the Canadian Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging tourist travel in Canada.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board, the Northern Canada Power Commission, and the National Battlefields Commission. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Advisory Board on Wildlife Protection act in an advisory capacity to the Minister in those fields. The Deputy Minister is Commissioner of the Northwest Territories.

Post Office Department.—Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 212) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, postal accommodation, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business.